Writing, to me

I LOVE WRITING!

I have found that writing comes very easily to me.

 It is an amazing process where I can actually shut my brain off and let my characters do the work for me.

When I started INFECTED formerly called THE WOODS I spent 3 days at my keyboard and wrote everything I could possibly think of about my main character: her height, weight, likes, dislikes, everything. After 2 of those days she came alive and starting writing for me. I found out things about her that I never knew were there. Like for instance, I never knew that she hates eating fish.

Now, almost all the things I wrote are not in the story. Very few are actually. But the point is that I was able to get into my character’s head before I wrote word one of my novel. Well, I think it was more like she got into my head.

Because of all this, I have never had a case of writers block. I am just the instrument my characters are using to get their stories out.

The closest I have come to writer’s block is when I tried to change point of view in my original Chapter 7. I got through the chapter, but then was stumped. I had no idea what came next. So I went back to the original POV and tried again. This time the chapter flowed beautifully into the next one. I just had to follow what my characters wanted.

 They stop talking to me when I don’t listen.

Fortunately, I have learned that hearing characters yell at you and pout and scream, etc. is perfectly normal for a writer. That was a HUGE relief. I was starting to think I was coming down with multiple personality disorder. Now, I know that I am normal, or at least as normal as the next writer, however normal that might actually be.

I write my stories in the 1st person present, just like I am talking to you. This makes things more difficult according to some people. They tell me I should try to do 3rd person past. Well, I can’t write like that.  I HAVE tried. My thoughts just flow better as if I am telling the story as it happens and from my point of view (or in this case Cherie’s POV).

I guess my main point here is simple. Write the way that works best for you. Try new things, they may not work, but do try them.

Keep loving what you are doing, and it will never feel like work!

Dawn

7 Comments

Filed under characters, writing

7 responses to “Writing, to me

  1. Cherie

    Yay! Your first post! 😉

    See? I told ya I wouldn’t miss your blog. Welcome to the blogosphere! 😉 And I heart your character’s name.

  2. I have an easier time writing in first person too–it’s easier to tell the story from someone’s head. Writing third person to me feels like writing from the outside.

    Some of my favorite authors are the complete opposite.

    Writing. What a crazy little world.

    Glad you got the blog up! Huzzah!

  3. Hi, I totally understand having to listen to the characters. I find my writing flows better when I do. Nice to meet you and I look forward to reading more!

  4. Welcome to the world of blogging. 🙂

  5. Jen W. Merritt

    M. J. Rose said she gets a box and collects things her MC likes – pictures, colors, fabrics, knick knacks, etc. – until she feels like she knows her character, then she starts writing.

    Congrats on getting your blog on!

  6. KellieM

    Congrats on your blog! Your site looks very good. I’ve added you to my google reader!

    KellieM
    http://tightywritie.blogspot.com/

  7. You’ve officially been tagged, missy!

Leave a Reply

