Critiquing-my way

Some people seems to dislike, even hate, critiquing. I really don’t know why. I love it!

Doing a crit lets me climb inside someone else’s mind and manuscript and see what is going on in there. Whether the writing is good, bad, phenomenal or horrid, it always tells me something about the author and myself.

I can see things in other’s work that I can’t see in my own, and it makes my writing stronger. If someone relies too heavily on adverbs, I can see where I have done the same thing. Then I know how to fix it.

Critiquing is fun! It takes you on a journey you would never have gone on by yourself. I write paranormal romance, but the works I am currently doing crits on are YA, Historical Horror, Science Fiction, and Fantasy. Every one pulls me in a different direction.

The best part of doing crits is the very fact that you get to read an unpublished work, that could someday be the next NYT best seller. They may not be, but the possibility is there. I love the fact that I can help other people make their work better.

Right now I am going to give a shout out to the people who have helped me with INFECTED. Some are still crit partners, others have just helped along the way. THANK YOU Riley, Tracy, Kacey, Dean, Peter, Don, and Mike. I look forward to learning more from you guys!

Tomorrow, I will be dealing with my least favorite part of writing….the dreaded editing.

6 Comments

Filed under characters, crit, critique, critiquing, editing, writing

6 responses to “Critiquing-my way

  1. Critiquing can sometimes be tedious, but it’s AWESOME to watch a fellow writer’s manuscript transform!

    And yeah, I always think, hey maybe some day they will get published and I’ll be in the ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS! More adulation is always welcome. 🙂

  2. Dawn,
    Totally agree that critiquing others improves your own writing. Looking forward to your next post on editing.

  3. Don’t let editing turn into dreaditing! 😛 All the hard stuff’s done. Now it just has to transform in your hands like putty. 😀

  4. Critiquing is a balance though. You may see things to help out your work, but how honest should you be on other’s work? It is something you’ve got to be careful with. I always try and find what works. If I see a problem, I try and offer a solution to the issues I find while I’m doing the crit. It is great if you can find a great critique partner. You’ve got to be honest, or else you are not helping.

  5. Well done again, Dawn.

    One of the harder things about critiquing is trying to keep your own voice out of the other author’s story. I find you have to be able to crit, and let the author be themselves at the same time.

  6. Pen

    I would like to inform you that the following post has been explicitly copied from your blog onto another site, potentially without your consent and/or knowledge: Critiquing–My Way.

    The offending url is: http://schoolofcreativewriting.com/?author=25

    It is believed that the author of this site is attempting to gain monetarily from stealing others’ work and posting it along with false Gravatar information.

Leave a Reply

