Interview with Dawn G. Sparrow

Okay so over the next few weeks/months I will be interviewing writers of different genres.

Well then it only makes sense for me to do one on myself as well….so here’s a bit about me!

My name is Dawn G, Sparrow, wife, mother of 1 boy, 2 dogs, 2 cats, and one incredibly hardy fish.

 

Interview Questions

 

1)   What genre(s) do you write? And why?

I write paranormal. My first book is a paranormal romance while its sequel is a little bit too dark to call a romance. I enjoy writing and seeing things from a different point of view. I like to put two different things together that have nothing to do with eachother and then creating a story about them. They just usually come out paranormal!

2)   Tell us about your latest project. This is your chance to crow about being published, agented, or winning a contest.

My latest project is in the editing phase right now. It is a paranormal romance called INFECTED. I am unagented and unpublished, but I love to write so even if this novel never gets published, something will. (Although I do hope thisone makes it since the sequel THE GREEN ONES is in progress as well, just preliminary writing, but the story is all together!)

3)   Other than writing, how do you like to spend your time?

Well, I read, take care of my family and things like that, but what I really love to do is go fishing! We have a resevoir a few miles away and so I head ove there with my box of nightcralers and sit for hours when I am not writing or editing. I am teaching my son how to fish as well.

4)   Do you have any tattoo’s, if so where? If not, do you want any?

Well, maybe I shouldn’t have included this question…but since I did I will answer it. I have 4 tattoos: 2 different faeries, a black panther in repose and a heart crowned with fire and wrapped in barbed wire. As to where, they are, in no particular order, my rt ankle, left hip, left side of my chest and left shoulder blade.

5)   What is the last book you read? Did you like it?

The last book I read was THE BURNING: GUARDIANS OF GA’HOOLE and yes I love the series. I can’t help it but it is true! I love young literature as much as I do te classics. (My favorite book of all time is LORD OF THE FLIES)

6)   What is your advice to those who want to be authors? (I know, it’s a crummy one, but needs to be asked)

I was right, it is a crummy question. But my most important advice would be to get lots of beta readers/critiquers. The best place I have found for these is on the website http://www.agentqueryconnect.com The other most important thing (okay there shouldn’t be two most important things, but there are) Keep writing, you will get better each time!

7)   Tell us one thing no one knows about you

 ACK! Everyone knows everyhting about me. Oh wait, here’s is something. I have a congenital birth defect that has deformed my left ear creating a functional hearing lossin that ear. I’m so used to it I hardly ever even mention it anymore!

 If you are here you know my blog addy. My Twitter is @DawnGSparrow feel free to follow me and check out my sense of humor!

5 Comments

Filed under author, crazy, interview, learning, novel, story, thinking process, writing

5 responses to “Interview with Dawn G. Sparrow

  1. Jen

    I must say Dawn has a great knack for ideas….ideas galore, and I love hearing everyone one of them!!! Wow…that imagination!

  2. And if I remember correctly from the last AQC Speculative Fiction chat, you like to catch fish but you don’t like to eat them right? Or am I confusing you with someone else?

    Hope you post more of your story in the marathon. That bulge on the side of Cherie’s neck is niggling at me.

  3. You got it right Joyce! Strictly catch and release! I detest fish BLEH!

  4. Re:Joyce’s comment. At first I was like, eh? There’s a bulge on MY neck?!? Then I remembered that “Cherie” is your protagonist. Lol!

    Your self-interview is epic! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

