Interview with Ashlee Supinger

Here is an interview with one of my quadtweeplets, the wonderful, beautiful, A.M.Supinger!

Interview Questions

1)   What genre(s) do you write? And why?

      I originally wanted to write High Fantasy…but my voice refused to budge out of YA. So, I fell off my noble steed and abandoned my notions of gallivanting into the publishing world and out-writing Terry Goodkind. It’s just not going to happen. Now I write YA Fantasy (almost fanatically), and it has grown on me (the understatement of year). In my (not so) humble opinion, it’s the best genre in the business.

 2)   Tell us about your latest project. This is your chance to crow about being published, agented, or winning a contest.

     I have many projects. My manuscript is undergoing critique, my query is on Query Shark (#200 – yes, I know it sucks. I’m working on it!), my blog is continually updated, and my profiles on AQC and Twitter are a-buzz. My info is listed below, so follow me 😛

 3)   Other than writing, how do you like to spend your time?

    What time? I write like a fiend. My hubby manages to pull me away from the computer maybe once a month. That’s when I eat. Haha…no, I’m not that bad. I like to read, paint, and watch Jane Austen movies. My hubby likes to drag me camping all across the state. Most of the time, we compromise: he sets up the tent in the backyard and we eat dinner out there…and then cuddle up inside to watch Pride and Prejudice. Or Persuasion. Or Howl’s Moving Castle (yes, yes…I know it’s not an Austen movie. But it’s awesome and it makes my movie list several times a month).

 4)   Do you have any tattoo’s, if so where? If not, do you want any?

     I DO have a tattoo! And I love bragging about it! Why? Because it’s beautiful and it hurt like a million bee stings; I’m proud that I didn’t run screaming before it was half-finished. The owner of the best tat shop in my hometown designed it for me and inked me herself. I am the last woman in my family to get this tattoo – we now all have roses on the back of our necks. Badges of love, family, and feminine pride.

     My next tattoo will be an owl.

 5)   What is the last book you read? Did you like it?

     I just reread Wuthering Heights. It kills me that Bella Swan has made it popular again. It used to feel like a forgotten treasure, a twisted love story that I could relish privately. Now every twi-hard has a copy. Uggggh! But, at the same time, “Yay for teens reading quality literature!”

 6)   What is your advice to those who want to be authors? (I know, it’s a crummy one, but needs to be asked)

     Sign up with AgentQuery Connect… now. RIGHT NOW. Don’t send out queries until after you’ve had your manuscript critiqued by a non-biased person (hint: AgentQuery Connect). Don’t quit your day job. Let Ben&Jerry, Baskin-Robbins, or Edy’s comfort you when you get a rejection. Always think positive.

 7)   Tell us one thing no one knows about you

     Ummm…my nightmares are so bad that I’ve cracked teeth during them. Sometimes imagination is not a good thing.

 The extremely funny Ashlee Supinger can be found at :

My Twitter: @AMSupinger

My Blog: http://innerowlet.blogspot.com/

My AQC account: http://agentqueryconnect.com/index.php?/user/2560-amsupinger/

7 Comments

Filed under author, ideas, inspiration, interview, learning, thinking process, writing

7 responses to “Interview with Ashlee Supinger

  1. Ooh, you should show us a picture of your tattoo some time Owly! 🙂

  2. I second the tattoo proposition! Yay quadtweeplets!

    Also, those sound like some pretty legit nightmares. Jeez!

  3. TAG! You’ve been attacked by a meme. ^ that’s the link 🙂

  4. I love AM! I saw your rose tattoo and it is purty! You’re so brave! I like Wuthering Heights too. Didn’t know that Bella made it popular again. Ohhhh…was that the book she was reading?

    Anyway, Dawn, your author interviews are great! Hope you’re having a fun vacation! xoxo

  5. Cracked teeth–yikes! Now that’s a powerful imagination.

    YA fantasy rocks, AM. I like how you’re bringing a more cultured aspect to it. But you clearly have great taste in books and movies.

    Great interview!

Leave a Reply

