Interview with Riley Redgate

Now, for my Wednesday interview, here is the incomparable, annoyingly multi-talented, too close to perfect for her own good, Riley Redgate. (She is also one of my best friends!)

Riley Redgate runs a generally silly blog at http://themightyjungle.blogspot.com and exhibits a talent for 140-character mumbo-jumbo at http://twitter.com/RileyRedgate.

A brief and largely irrelevant bio: Riley’s love for writing kindled when she started her first novel at the age of nine. It was high fantasy, and she hand-wrote 163 painstaking pages before deciding to memorize the table of elements instead. She loves all music – yep, even the bad stuff – and she thinks hipsters are hilarious.

1)   What genre(s) do you write? And why?

I write young adult, because I’m a young adult. Also, because I believe the choices we make as adolescents are usually vital ones that decide who we become, and dynamic characters in YA have often been the most heartwrenching for me to read.

2)  Tell us about your latest project. This is your chance to crow about being published, agented, or winning a contest.

 The last project I finished is currently in the query trenches. It’s a war novel wrapped up in a dystopia, but at its heart it’s a romance. (Yeah, pitching it is a toughie, ha.) I’m hoping to find a kindly agent who loves it as much as I do, and is willing to take the plunge with me. =] EDIT– I would like to point out that Riley has received a partial request this week!–Dawn 

3) Other than writing, how do you like to spend your time?

I spend time hanging out with my friends, playing the piano, singing, doing musicals, and being generally artsy-fartsy. Depending on the company, I will also engage in the occasional good debate.

4)   Do you have any tattoo’s, if so where? If not, do you want any?

 Ha! You know, a tattoo would be fun, but I think my mother would have an aneurysm. If I ever get one, it’ll probably be unobtrusive and sentimental. Or just straight-up wicked-awesome; that works too.

5)  What is the last book you read? Did you like it?

 Last book I read was Anansi Boys, by Neil Gaiman. I’ve read it probably upwards of ten times, and it always gets better. Which is saying something, since it was awesome the first time. So… yeah, uh, I liked it.

6)   What is your advice to those who want to be authors? (I know, it’s a crummy one, but needs to be asked)

 Advice… well, sheesh. Honestly, I’d say educate yourself about the industry. There’s a wealth of brilliant free knowledge out there, and an even bigger wealth of amazing people to meet. (AgentQuery Connect was one of the best things that ever happened to me!) The entire publishing business has basically laid down a yellow brick road for aspiring authors – of course there are going to be trip-ups and detours, but knowing the road is half the battle to reaching the end of it.

7)   Tell us one thing no one knows about you

One thing no one knows about me: I’m a borderline hypochondriac. I can’t get to sleep one night? OMG I HAVE INSOMNIA. I cough? AAAGH BRONCHITIS. I lock the car door twice? IT MUST BE OBSESSIVE COMPULSION. *sigh*

Thanks for the wonderful interview, Dawn!

You are most welcome, beautiful!

4 Comments

Filed under author, character traits, crazy, growing, ideas, inspiration, interview, learning, love, novel, rules, story, thinking process, voice, writing

4 responses to “Interview with Riley Redgate

  1. Hahaha! You crack me up, Yodant! Congrats again on having a partial out 🙂

    Great post!

  2. Yodant also forgot to mention that she has an imagination that George Lucas would kill for.

    (As soon as they find a way to transfer thoughts… I’m stealing it.) 😉 😀

    Go get ’em Riley! Turn that partial into a full blown contract.

  3. Wow, I definitely never would’ve guessed the hypochondria thing. That’s kinda funny lol. Great interview!

  4. Yay, Riley! I love me my favorite Chirish teen 😉

    Goodluck on that partial, hun!

Leave a Reply

