Interview with Stephanie Diaz

Well, it is Friday and time for another in my series of interviews. This is such a great experience and a chance for you to get to know some of the other writers out there!

Today, I am interviewing the beautiful and amazing Stephanie Diaz. If you aren’t you NEED to follow her on Twitter and on her blog!

Bio: At eighteen, Stephanie Diaz is an aspiring young adult author who studies film production at San Diego State University. In her spare time, she also writes and performs original songs. Follow her on twitter (@StephanieEDiaz), or find her on her blog: http://stephanieevelanddiaz.blogspot.com/

 

1)   What genre(s) do you write? And why?

I write young adult novels, primarily in the fantasy genre. I’m a young adult myself, so it seems natural to write to the people I know best, though of course I’d love it if my novels also appeal to adults. Fantasy is the genre I’ve always had a passion for. When I’m reading a book myself, I love to enter a completely different world that’s so wonderful I never want to return from it. So I love imagining worlds of my own, and seek to draw readers into them so that they can experience the same beauty I see in my head.

 

2)   Tell us about your latest project. This is your chance to crow about being published, agented, or winning a contest.

I recently completed a high fantasy novel, ERHISTAUT, and I’m seeking publication for it. It’s currently 76,000 words total. Here’s the tagline for it: Heiren Delaire doesn’t know the stars chose her for this. All she knows is that her country is falling, her father is dead, and she has to destroy the bastard demon who murdered him.

 

3)   Other than writing, how do you like to spend your time?

I enjoy watching and making great films. I also love writing music, and singing.

 

4)   Do you have any tattoo’s, if so where? If not, do you want any?

I don’t have any tattoos. I would definitely consider getting one, but I’m not quite at that point where I really want one.

 

5)   What is the last book you read? Did you like it?

The last book I read was FORGING THE SWORD by Hilari Bell. It’s the third book in her Farsala trilogy. I highly recommend it; it’s very well-written. I adore the world she’s created.

 

6)   What is your advice to those who want to be authors? (I know, it’s a crummy one, but needs to be asked)

Just be persistent. I think it takes some bravery, since you’re essentially sharing a part of yourself with others, whether it be critique partners, agents, editors, or readers. Just don’t ever give up on something you love. If you love it that much, you can always find a way to make it happen.

 

7)   Tell us one thing no one knows about you

Well, a couple people know this, but when I was seven I was bitten by a spider and went through a very traumatic experience as a result. I’ve been quite frightened of them ever since, though now not so much as I once was. They still creep me out.

Didn’t I tell you she is amazing? Thanks Stephanie!

4 Comments

Filed under author, character traits, characters, conflict, crazy, growing, ideas, inspiration, interview, learning, love, novel, story, thinking process, voice, writing, writing process

4 responses to “Interview with Stephanie Diaz

  1. Steph, you are into filmaking? That’s so cool! And I had no idea you were still technically a teenager (take that as a big compliment.) As to persistence, I admire you for yours. You take your knocks and keep hiking forward. =)

  2. Great interview, Dawn! Stephanie is a multi-talented girl. 😉

  3. What an awesome interview! Thanks for introducing me to this aspiring and talented young author. I read the excerpt of ERHISTAUT on her blog, and you’re right. She’s amazing! And at such a young age!

Leave a Reply

