Two Awards, Two Books, and Monday Musings

Okay, today being Monday, i have lots to talk about. If you follow this blog you may have noticed a decided lack of interviews last week. To this I can only apologize and say that there were personal issues in the way. So this week I will be posting interviews on Tues, Wed, Thurs, and Fri. I am also working on a list of interviewees and when their interviews will go up on the blog. This will be found in its own tab on the site.  It should be up today.

First off I would like to thank Suzanne Payne for awarding me these two awards! So check out her blog!

Suzanne Payne

 

“I give the Blog on Fire and Leibster Blog Award to Dawn G. Sparrow at  Write Away.  She’s just beginning to stretch her ‘writerly’ wings in public, which is a H-U-G-E step.  She’s got the support of the #goatposse behind her, so there’s no way she can fail.  Love ya’ Dawn! 🙂  She also tweets @DawnGSparrow  Follow her and all the rest of my award-winning peeps!  You can’t go wrong with this crew. ” 

Now I am, supposed to give these awards out myself, but I honestly have no idea who to give them to! So the first 5 people who contact me via email, DM, or comment can have these awards! I will do a write-up for each one of them and post it later.

Next item on the agenda today– 2 Books.

This week I have read EATS, SHOOT & LEAVES by Lynne Truss.

Finally I am starting to get a handle on my arch-nemesis, the comma. I have been fighting the comma since I started writing. It seems the rules I grew up with have completely changed over the course of time. Suddenly, I am left staring at the tadpole shaped mark and wondering  ‘Do I put it in, or do I take it out?’ It will be a slow process, but now I have some rules to guide me. So this is definitely a good book for me.

I am about half-way through Steven Harper’s WRITING A PARANORMAL NOVEL. It is a good book, especially for people who are writing ‘traditional’ paranormal characters. i.e. vampires, werewolves, fairies (faeries) and the like. However, my paranormal is completely different from what is traditional for this genre. I am still finding useful and helpful information. Best of all, there are exercises that can help you to develop your protagonist and antagonist into more well-rounded and realistic creatures/people. So I would definitely look this book up if you are in need of learning how to develop a character, deciding what powers your character should or should not have, as well as learning about world building.

I definitely recommend you add these two books to your list of reads.

Now, finally, some Monday Musings.

The last week has taught me a lot about who my friends are, and who they aren’t. I went through a very bad situation  and lost some friends. The ones who are sticking by me in spite of my life are the ones I treasure. I want to spend a moment and thank just a few people for being there for me. Thank you.

Jen Martin

April Williams

Reid Undant

Lela Gwenn

Imran Siddiq

thank you guys, very much.

Now all I have to say, is that I can’t wait until Labor Day! Right after that holiday my son goes back to school and I can finally concentrate on getting my second novel down on paper. I enjoy working in peace and quiet. I rarely even listen to music, instead I hear only my characters’ thought and voices. This is extremely hard to do when all day you hear “Momma, are you done yet?” “Can you help me find something to do?” “I’m bored.”

Soon, very soon.

Always,

Dawn

1 Comment

Filed under Agent Query Connect, author, award, character traits, characters, conflict, crazy, editing, growing, ideas, inspiration, learning, Lynne Truss, novel, paranormal, punctuation, rules, Shoots and Leaves, Steven Harper, thinking process, Thriller, voice, Writer, writing, Writing a Paranormal Novel, writing novels, writing process

One response to “Two Awards, Two Books, and Monday Musings

  1. Jen

    I consider myself very blessed having you cross my path and myself crossing yours. Definitely, spread your wings…you have a damn good gift. Use it!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

