Interview with Calista Taylor @calistataylor

Here is an interview with the talented and beautiful Calista Taylor. She has been very encouraging and helpful to me while I have been the process of trying to get my writing career started. Thanks Cali!

1)    What genre(s) do you write? And why?

 I tend to write steampunk or paranormal romances, most often set in the past or an alternative world, but with a mystery or adventure thrown in for good measure.

2)    Tell us about your latest project. This is your chance to crow about being published, agented, or winning a contest.

 I just started querying a paranormal take on Jack the Ripper, and I’m attempting to wrap up a steampunk clothing craft book which has a publication date of spring 2012.

3)    Other than writing, how do you like to spend your time?

 I try to write any chance I get, but if I’m not writing or working on the craft book, then I’m either reading or cooking.

 4)    Do you have any tattoo’s, if so where? If not, do you want any?

 Amazingly enough, no tattoo’s. It just hasn’t happened yet.

5)    What is the last book you read? Did you like it?

 I’m currently reading Sara Donati’s series, so I just finished Fire Along the Sky.  It was very good.  She does a great job of capturing the period, and her characters feel very real.

6)    What is your advice to those who want to be authors? (I know, it’s a crummy one, but needs to be asked)

 Just keep writing and reading.  It’s the only way to get better at it.

7)    Tell us one thing no one knows about you

 I can’t say that no one knows this about me, but I love storms.  When they say we’re going to get a blizzard, I get giddy. Love thunderstorms too.   But I can’t stand hot weather. I cringe at the thought of sunny and 85.

Calista Taylor is an agented author of steampunk/gaslight romance and non-fiction, with a steampunk clothing craft book due out in May 2012.  When not running things over with a sewing machine or lacing herself into a corset, Calista can be found tapping away on her laptop, tormenting her characters, and riddling the streets of Victorian London with dead bodies and heaving bosoms.  She’s also a creative cook who can’t follow recipes, a versatile crafter, and a happy geek.  For more on Calista, check out her website, Calista Taylor (http://calistataylor.com/), her blog, A Steampunk Reverie  (http://asteampunkreverie.blogspot.com/) or follow her on Twitter  (http://twitter.com/calistataylor).

Always,

Dawn

Leave a comment

Filed under Agent Query Connect, author, award, characters, growing, inspiration, interview, novel, paranormal, thinking process, Writer, writing, writing novels, writing process

Leave a Reply

