Interview with J. Lea Lopez @JLeaLopez

J. Lea is a wonderful writer with a very positive attitude. She has a lovely little dog that I absolutely adore and a heart as big as all outdoors! Take the ride with me as I interview her!

J. Lea’s blog URL is http://jlealopez.blogspot.com and her Twitter page is http://twitter.com/#!/JLeaLopez

J. Lea Lopez has been writing since those angsty teenage years, though she and her writing have both matured since then. At least a little bit. She currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog-child. In addition to jello, her blog Jello World also discusses life and writing. Follow her on Twitter for a little bit of nonsense, a little bit of writing-related info, and a little bit of stuff to make you blush.

1)   What genre(s) do you write? And why?

I write women’s fiction and erotica. The women’s fiction is just how most stories come out of my head. Female-centric, stories of relationships and life struggles, drama, the occasional tear. I’ve never had the head to spin fantastic tales. I’ve always imagined potential real-life what-ifs and stories sprung up from there. The erotica came later. I’m all for being more open and frank about sex and sexuality, and when a writer friend whom I respect immensely told me my sex scenes were good, I decided to take the plunge (ahem) and try erotica.

2)   Tell us about your latest project. This is your chance to crow about being published, agented, or winning a contest.

 With the exception of a few short pieces (you can find links on my blog) I don’t have any major publishing credits. One day… *sigh*. My current WIP is commercial women’s fiction, about a young woman whose fiancé dies just weeks before the wedding, and in the midst of her grief she finds herself falling in love with his brother. During this time of crisis, her faith – or lack thereof – is challenged, leading her to begin a series of conversations with a Catholic priest debating the existence of God, the purpose of suffering, and the boundaries of love.

3)   Other than writing, how do you like to spend your time?

I like creative things in general. Listening to music (anything I can sing along to is great), sewing, reading, watching TV and playing video games.

4)   Do you have any tattoo’s, if so where? If not, do you want any?

I do not currently have any tattoos, but I think I’d like to get a simple one of the Zelda triforce symbol. (Yes, I’m a bit of a geek.)

5)   What is the last book you read? Did you like it?

I’m currently in the process of reading a couple different books. But the last one I finished was… now don’t laugh… and don’t jump to conclusions… Swinging for Beginners: And Introduction to the Lifestyle – Revised Edition, by Kaye Bellemeade. It was interesting and informative, with the exception of one glaring health-related error that made me cringe.

6)   What is your advice to those who want to be authors? (I know, it’s a crummy one, but needs to be asked)

It is never too soon to start learning about the industry. Multi-tasking is your friend. While you write and polish your novel, you can also be doing 15 minutes of research a day for however many months it takes you to write your book. And research can be as simple as reading agent blogs. By the time you’re ready to query, you’ll actually know what a good query letter looks like and how the process works.

7)Tell us one thing no one knows about you.

Well if I tell you, then everyone will know 😉 But seriously, I’m a pretty open book. Ask and I shall answer for the most part. I don’t know that there’s much that people don’t know about me.

Please follow both her blog and her Tweets!

Always,

Dawn

2 Comments

Filed under Agent Query Connect, author, characters, growing, ideas, interview, learning, novel, voice, Women's Fiction, Writer, writing, writing process

2 responses to “Interview with J. Lea Lopez @JLeaLopez

  1. Awesome interview J. Lea and Dawn.

  2. Thanks for having me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

