How to Beat Writer’s Block

Due to crazy holiday work schedules, this Monday post is coming out on Thursday. So be it.

I get it, you get it, every great writer gets it too: The dreaded WRITER’S BLOCK.

There are times in a WIP when you sit back and say to yourself “What happens next?” and you come up blank.

No ideas flow, the well of creativity is dry.

Great, now what?

There a few, somewhat well-known tricks that can help you get through this.

First let’s go through the types of writer’s blocks.

1) The “I don’t know where this is going” block — Okay, this one used to happen to me all the time when I was writing. I’d get to a point where every word was pulling my hair out. Sitting there, looking at a blank page, with my mind as blank, waiting for something to come.

This is a simple (mind you, simple, not easy) solution. It usually means you have lost your way in the story. Time to go back a bit and see what the problem is so you can fix it. Often you have just lost a small thread of the plot. It happens. Just fix it up and change your more recent writing to reflect that. Remember you have a million words of crap in you, this is a way to get some of them out.

2) The “I don’t want to write” block —

This can be a hard one to overcome. Think about why you write, what you want your work to say about you, then write it. Sometimes I do think like a *shudder* synopsis, just not a formal. I make a sort of book report on my story, telling about the beginning, the middle, and the end. This can help you find your way, once again.

The other way to deal with this is to write free-form. Just write, write badly if you have to. It’s okay, I give you permission. Get some of those crap words out of your head.

3) The “My story is crap” block —

Forget it, just keep going. You don’t have to get it right the first time, so write some filler you can edit out later.

OR start at another place in the WIP, something that excites you. You may find your passion for writing returning.

These are just a few types, there are as many as there are writers. The real key is to never give up, never stop writing, Take a break, sure but don’t stop.

SHAMELESS PLUG:

Enter my Flash Fiction Contest . I have decided to give prizes in multiple genres if I get enough entries. You can submit more than one story. Your friends can submit as well. In fact, TELL EVERYONE! Make me eat my words that I want this to be big!

Always,

Dawn

4 Comments

Filed under award, contest, flash fiction, thinking process, Writer, writer's block, writing, writing process

4 responses to “How to Beat Writer’s Block

  1. You’ve got great practical ideas on beating writer’s block. I’ve been through the “I’m not good enough”, “I don’t know where this is heading”, “my story is crap” blocks. A lot of it is unnecessary self-doubt.

    I did a post on this topic, too, if you are interested in checking it out.

  2. Ha! I wish I had this problem. I have trouble keeping in the “real world” I’ll make note of this though. The day has to come sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

