Where have I been? What have I been doing?

Well, life has a tendency to get in my way, and, unfortunately, the blog is the first thing that gets slighted.

I have been working quite a bit at Babies R Us and may be in line for a promotion.

I have been writing, and rewriting, and editing.

INFECTED us getting rewritten from the beginning now that I know a bit more about writing than I used to. This time it is in 1st person past. I have chapter 1 fully outlined in my new formula of writing and it should be written by Wed night.

PROPHECY is also getting a do-over, switching to past tense. Seven full chapters are completed.

A QUESTION OF CHANGE is in the researching part of writing as I learn more about zoology and a specific park that is near me. Although under a different name, Maymont Park in Richmond, VA is the setting in the novel, with some small modifications.

WHITE DARKNESS also known by the name RAFTER MONSTER is still in the brain storming stage.

June 1st begins the Speculative Fiction Marathon where INFECTED and PROPHECY will be undergoing critiques. For 12 weeks, one chapter a week will be critiqued by other spec-fic members. It is a thrilling and exhausting time.

I am also a contributing blogger for dragons and aliens and wraiths oh my a blog for speculative fiction authors, by speculative fiction authors. My first post is live.

After Marathon I will be publishing serials from authors I know. A chapter a week is the goal right now. Hopefully my fellow spec-fic members come through like they said they would! Thanks for already having segments done TJ!

So I will be better on letting you guys know where everything stands in the future. At least things are getting back under control.

Always,

Dawn

8 Comments

Filed under Agent Query Connect, author, crazy, crit, critique, critiquing, story, thinking process, work in progress, writing process

8 responses to “Where have I been? What have I been doing?

  1. Sounds like you have been very busy!

  2. I LOVE Maymont Park!! I hope you get the promotion at work. You’ve been through a lot lately and it’s time for some good things. Glad to have you back.

    • Thanks, Clip. It is good to be back. At least all the major things have settled down for a bit! (A QUESTION OF CHANGE stars in the bear enclosure heading to the deer one across the way. Should be interesting!)

  3. Remember when they had to kill one of the poor bears because some kid climbed into the enclosure?

  4. The kid’s family was so against killing the bears. It was just a graze on the boy’s skin. He’d been eating an apple and put his hand through the chain link fence to pet the bear. His family was devastated when they killed the two. They felt so bad. Such a sad thing to happen to them all, bears and family.

  5. For those unaware of the incident we are talking about. The most unbiased account I can find is at http://rotj.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/bear-statue-at-maymont/ It was a tragedy that has left its mark on native Richmonders and others

  6. Wow, you have been busy. Good luck with the possible promotion. It’s good when you get into a zone and have such enthusiasm for your projects. Happy writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

