NaNoWriMo is here! And some other things.

Well, it sure has been awhile. Thank you for everyone who has stuck with me. This summer was the worst one in my life.

My mother died after spending 55 days in the hospital. Through a chain of circumstances, she died of blood poisoning, on August 14th.

My father could not deal with losing her and attempted suicide on Labor Day. I found him right after he fell unconscious (I have been living with my parents for about a year while dealing with a divorce). I got him to a hospital where he was saved. For a minute. He refused to eat or drink and came home on hospice. he died in our home with both my brother and I present on September 17th.

Their funerals were exactly a month apart. August 24 and September 24.

Now, NaNoWriMo is here and I am finally going to sit down and write. This will be the first time I have done this since my father’s funeral, and very little was done over the summer to begin with as I watched my mother get sick, get better, have a set back, then get better and finally fail.

I will be posting daily updates on word count as I begin to write WHITE DARKNESS, a standalone horror novel based, in part, on my time working at Toys R Us.

Fort those of you who are interested, my mother’s and father’s obituaries are link to the post.

Carol Mayo

Bill Mayo

Always,

Dawn

4 Comments

Filed under author, growing, NaNoWriMo, writing, writing novels

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo is here! And some other things.

  1. I’m sorry for your double loss.

  2. Dawn,
    After reading their obituaries, it’s obvious your parents did wonderful work in the community and their lives were a blessing to many. I’m so sorry they have left this earth so early.

    Good luck with NaNo. If you’re on the site , please be my writing buddy. Cheering and supporting each other on is part of the NaNoWriMo fun.

  3. Continuing to send all the virtual hugs you might need, Dawn. =)

    Your story description made me smile. Horror and Toys R Us. I hope you have fun writing this month!

  4. I am so sorry for your losses. I cannot imagine. I hope you find solace in your writing. After my father’s passing six years ago, I found that writing helped me put everything into perspective and enabled me to begin my journey down the long road toward healing and peace. I hope it does that for you.

Leave a Reply

